Forza Horizon 5 wins Racing Game of the Year at DICE Awards 2022

Every year, the annual D.I.C.E. (Design Innovate Communicate Entertain) Awards honours the best achievements in the video game industry.

Unlike The Game Awards, which combines sports and racing games into the same category, the D.I.C.E. Awards have a dedicated racing game category.

The D.I.C.E. Awards 2022 winners have been revealed, and there are no prizes for guessing which title was crowned racing game of the year.

Forza Horizon 5 wins Racing Game of the Year

To the surprise of no one, Forza Horizon 5 won the Racing Game of the Year award at the 25th annual D.I.C.E. Awards. Other nominees included Codemasters’ F1 2021 and Milestone’s Hot Wheels Unleashed. And in case you're wondering, indie darling It Takes Two picked up the prestigious Game of the Year award.

Playground Games’ open-world racer was also crowned Best Sports/Racing Game at the 2021 Video Game Awards last December. That wasn’t all, as FH5 also took home awards for Best Audio Design and Innovation In Accessibility at the 2021 Video Game Awards.

Forza Horizon 5 Mercedes AMG One
expand image
Forza Horizon 5 also took home three awards at last year's Video Game Awards

It's not surprising to see FH5 crowned Racing Game of the Year at the D.I.C.E. awards. After releasing last October, the open-world racer became the biggest launch in Xbox history. It was critically acclaimed and over 18 million players have been exploring the game’s massive open-world set in Mexico.

With so many high-profile racing games launching in 2022 including Gran Turismo 7, GRID Legends, Test Drive Unlimited Solar Crown, the next Need For Speed, and possibly Forza Motorsport, it will be interesting to see which game is crowned the Racing Game of the Year at next year’s D.I.C.E. Awards.

World Cup finals

Forza Horizon 5 Series 4 Spring starts this week, bringing the Horizon World Cup to an end. This is your last chance to take home the Series Progress reward cars.

At the time of writing, Japan is winning the Horizon World Cup. If Japan wins, players will receive the 1996 Nissan GT-R LM as a reward car.

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

Have an opinion on this article? We'd love to hear it!