Turbo Golf Racing looks like Rocket League with golf

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

Announced last month, Turbo Golf Racing is a new online arcade sports racing game where players flip, jump and boost in rocket-powered cars hitting an oversized ball. If this sounds familiar, you’re not wrong.

With its mix of cars and crazy golf, Turbo Golf Racing sounds a lot like Rocket League with golf instead of football. But given Rocket League’s unrelenting popularity and fun, easy to grasp gameplay, that’s not necessarily a bad thing.

EDITOR'S PICK: LOGITECH G923 RACING WHEEL

[object Object]

Whether Turbo Golf Racing can replicate Rocket League’s success remains to be seen. We’ll find out soon, however, because developer Hugecalf Studios and publisher Secret Mode have announced a playable beta for Turbo Golf Racing is launching later this month.

Turbo Golf Racing beta starts next week

Supporting cross-play across PC, Xbox Series X|S and Xbox One, the Turbo Golf Racing beta runs from 28 April at 04:00 PDT/12:00 BST/13:00 CEST until 2 May at 02.00 PDT/10.00 BST/11.00 CEST.

Advertisement
Turbo Golf Racing screenshot
click to enlarge
+ 2
The Turbo Golf Racing beta runs from 28 April to May

To access the Turbo Golf Racing beta, Xbox and Windows Store players need to download the Xbox Insider app on their console or Windows device and register interest on the Xbox Insider Programme previews page. At launch, the beta will be accessible on Steam.

The Turbo Golf Racing beta features 12 playable courses with online matches for up to eight players, as well as single-player time trials and daily missions. It also includes over 80 cosmetic items and a progression season up to level 15.

Exclusive beta rewards

Unfortunately, progress made in the beta won’t carry over to the full game. However, anyone who plays the beta will unlock three exclusive rewards. More details will be revealed when the beta tees off next week.

Advertisement
Turbo Golf Racing screenshot
click to enlarge
+ 2
Turbo Golf Racing looks like Rocket League with golf

While comparisons with Rocket League are unavoidable, Turbo Golf Racing has an element of racing. As you race against seven players, the objective is to be the first to get your ball into a giant hole. Hitting boost pads, using shortcuts, and firing missiles also give you an advantage.

Equipping Power Cores also unlock special abilities such as the ability to hit the ball further, fly faster, and use abilities such as Ground Stomp and Gravitate Ball and Roll.

Advertisement

There’s no release date yet, but Turbo Golf Racing is landing on PC, Xbox Series X|S, and Xbox One later this year. It's also coming to GamePass, but there's no word on a PlayStation or Nintendo Switch release yet, sadly.